Tau Ceti

The Tau Ceti Co-operative Ltd

Tau Ceti is a not-for-profit organisation that was formed in February 2003 by a group of technologists who decided that the best way to support their hosting needs would be to set up an organisation which helps other people with their hosting needs — a virtuous cycle was born.

You can become a subscriber to Tau Ceti and on doing so you join our great community of technologists, artists, enthusiasts, small businesses and extraordinary people who host their websites on our server. Register now.

Get started — become a subscriber

It's easy — simply download our domain registration form, enter the details about you and your domain, scan it and send it through to our secretary. We'll assign the setup of your domain to one of our volunteers and have you up and running in no time. Our charges are simple too — $50 setup and $6 per month.

We have many other offerings too including secondary DNS, domain forwarding, static IP's among others. Be sure to read our standing orders for a full rundown of our services.

Some of our happy subscribers include;
Friends of the Astor www.fota.net.au
Jeff Hook — Newspaper cartoonist and legend www.jeffhook.com
Mawson's Huts Foundation www.mawsons-huts.org.au
Australian Animal Studies Group www.aasg.org.au
Kokoda Tribute www.kokodatribute.com
Andy Zap - "one of Australia’s foremost performers!" www.andyzap.com
Sir Edward Dunlop Medical Research Foundation www.siredwarddunlop.org.au

Get involved — become a member

Volunteers keep Tau Ceti running smoothly. Enthusiastic individuals who can bring their console-kung-fu or administrative genius to our organisation are very welcome. A one-time only membership fee of $50 gets you on board and we'll start finding interesting and useful things to do to help us keep Tau Ceti a going concern. We're always looking for people who can contribute to the day to day operation of a volunteer organisation.

Our current members include:

Stephen Farrugia www.fudgemond.org
David Hook www.autochthonous.org
Peter Grant www.peterlgrant.com
Travis Winters www.prozacblues.com
Jon Eaves www.eaves.org

Andrew Cosgriff andrew.j.cosgriff.name
Rupert Jones www.rupertjones.com
Warner Godfrey www.warnergodfrey.com
Boyd Sharrock www.lloydshark.net
Peter Morse www.petermorse.com.au

How it works

The Tau Ceti Co-operative Ltd is governed by a set of rules, registered with the Registrar of Co-operatives in the State of Victoria, Australia. Like all registered co-operatives we are also covered by the Co-operatives Act of 1996.

Incidentally, Tau Ceti, is a star that has been popular in science fiction stories and some home computer games. What our chances are of being featured in stories and games we don't know. However, there's definitely life in this Tau Ceti Co-operative! As for the star, if you want to know more have a look at Christoph Kulmann's web page on it.